

#### MINNESOTA CRIME PREVENTION ASSOCIATION BOARD MEETING MINUTES

### Date: October 17, 2016 - Conference - St. Cloud, MN

**Board Members:** John Eastham, Becky Boie, Kim Czapar, Terry Dehmer, Maryan Saad, Julie Janke, Roxanne Schreder, Angela Haseman, JoLynn Christianson, Suzie DiMaggio-Boom, Andrea Faue, Erin Nordrum, Garrett Kissner, Todd Strege

### Absent: Julie Janke

## CALL TO ORDER:

Meeting was called to order by President Eastham at 9:12 AM

- LEMA Honor Guard
- Honoring Jacob Wetterling
- St. Cloud Police Chief Anderson's opening remarks
- POST disclaimer
- Pledge
- Executive Board Member reports

## SECRETARY REPORT (Kim):

Approve last month's minutes: Motion- Alicia Mages, Waite Park PD Second- Dave Arpin, St. Peter PD All approved

## **TREASURER REPORT (Becky)**:

Balance as of 10/17/2016 is \$32,877.07 Motion to approve Treasurer's report

Motion: Kim Czapar, Brooklyn Park PD Second: Dave Arpin, St. Peter PD All Approved

Open Board Positions for 2017 (Angela Haseman)

- President
- Secretary
- Treasurer
- Board Member at Large (4 positions)

JoLynn Christianson (MSP Airport PD) nominated for President Roxanne Schreder (Sherburne County S.O.) nominated for Treasurer Maryan Saad (BCA) nominated for Secretary Julie Janke (Chaska PD) nominated for Board Member at Large Breanna Freedman (St. Louis Park PD) nominated for Board Member at Large Aric Matson (Waseca PD) nominated for Board Member at Large Tom McBroom (Rice County S.O.) nominated for Board Member at Large Janna Wood (Shakopee PD) nominated for Board Member at Large

## Notable Items:

- Night To Unite/National Night Out recognition event: scheduled for April 11, 2017 beginning at 10:00 AM at the Dakota Lodge
- NEW Social Media Outreach Committee-will meet quarterly, led by Janna Wood
  - December 6<sup>th</sup> beginning at 1:00 PM at Shakopee PD
  - February 21<sup>st</sup> 2017 beginning at 1:00 PM at Eagan PD
  - May 2<sup>nd</sup> 2017 beginning at 1:00 PM at Chisago County/Wyoming PD
- Website is still under construction but we believe it is closer to completion. Stay tuned for an email update when the site is up and fully functioning again.

# **NEXT MEETINGS (2<sup>nd</sup> Thursday of the month):**

- November 10 Sherburne County SO, Board Meeting & Retreat
- December NO MEETING

Meeting adjourned at 9:46 AM Motion: Alicia Mages, Waite Park PD Second: Dave Arpin, St. Peter PD All Approved

## **Election Results for 2017 Board of Directors:**

- JoLynn Christanson, President
- Maryan Saad, Secretary
- Roxanne Schreder, Treasurer
- Julie Janke, Board Member at Large

- Janna Wood, Board Member at Large
- Breanna Freedman, Board Member at Large
- Arik Matson, Board Member at Large
- Tom McBroom, Board Member at Large

### Contact information for those that will be new to the Board:

Breanna Freedman, <u>bfreedman@stlouispark.org</u> Arik Matson, <u>arikm@ci.waseca.mn.us</u> Tom McBroom, <u>tmcbroom@co.rice.mn.us</u> Janna Wood, <u>jwood@shakopeemn.gov</u>

### **MCPA Award Results:**

- 2016 Business of the Year: Plymouth Station Holiday Jerry Robbins and Liz Robbins-Nalezny
- 2016 Civic Organization of the Year: Lakes Area Law Enforcement Association Herman Bradley, Pat Wlasuk, Paul Laughton, and Duane Henningson
- 2016 Volunteer of the Year: Rob Riley (Richfield PD)
- 2016 Crime Prevention Specialist of the Year: Todd Strege (Maple Grove PD)
- 2016 Rosie Griep Legacy Award: Jill Ondrey (Eagan PD)
- 2016 Charles Rix Award of Excellence: Jim Caauwe, Savage Police Department

Meeting Adjourned

Respectfully Submitted, Kim Czapar