

MINNESOTA CRIME PREVENTION ASSOCIATION BOARD MEETING MINUTES

Date: 10/15/2017 – 10/17/2017 Holiday Inn – St Cloud

Board Members: JoLynn Christianson, Todd Strege, Andrea Faue, Breanna Freedman, Roxanne Schreder, Terry Dehmer, Julie Janke, John Eastham, Suzie DiMaggio-Boom, Garrett Kissner, Erin Nordrum, Maryan Saad

Absent:

CALL TO ORDER:

Meeting was called to order on Sunday October 15 by JoLynn at 2:27PM

SECRETARY REPORT (Maryan):

Approve September 2017 minutes:

Motion: Dave Arpin Second: Monica Jensen

All approved

TREASURER REPORT (Roxanne):

Balance as of 10/16/2017 is \$20,019.49 Motion to approve Treasurer's report.

Motion: Garrett Kissner Second: Dave Arpin All Approved

PRESIDENTS REPORT (JoLynn):

- Overview of what took place through the years Overview/
- COMMITTEE REPORTS

VICE PRESIDENTS REPORT (Julie Janke):

Open board positions for 2018 (President, Vice President, Sgt at Arms and 8 board members at large)

Nominations Opened – below individuals were nominated for specified positions

- Julie Janke Chaska PD President
- Alicia Mages Waite Park PD Vice President
- Todd Strege- Maple Grove Sgt at Arms

Board members at Large:

- Becky Boie Brooklyn Center PD
- Linda Canton Elk River PD
- Katie Chase Bloomington PD
- Suzie DiMaggio-Boom Rice PD

- Alex Draeger St. Louis Park PD
- Annie Faue Robbinsdale PD
- Georgeann Freeman Savage PD
- Tony Mortinson Osseo PD
- Betsy Sell Ramsey County SO
- Paul Schley Anoka PD

OLD BUSINESS:

Motion to pay Insurance for MCPA \$606.63
 Motion by Terry Dehmer
 Second by Julie Janke
 All Approved

NEW BUSINESS:

Elections Results for 2018 Board of Directors

- Julie Janke Chaska PD President
- Alicia Mages Waite Park PD Vice President
- Todd Strege- Maple Grove Sgt at Arms

Board members at Large:

- Linda Canton Elk River PD
- Katie Chase Bloomington PD
- Alex Draeger St. Louis Park PD
- Annie Faue Robbinsdale PD
- Georgeann Freeman Savage PD
- Tony Mortinson Osseo PD
- Betsy Sell Ramsey County SO
- Paul Schley Anoka PD

Motion to destroy the ballots Motion: Garrett Kissner Second: Dave Arpin All approved

MCPA Awards Results:

- Crime Prevention Citizen of the Year Award- Bob Hughes
- Crime Prevention Team Award- Metro Citizens Police Academy Alumni Association
- Business of the Year Award- Cabela's in Rogers
- Law Enforcement Officer Specialist Award- Julie Janke
- Rosie Griep Legacy Award- RuthAnn Eide
- Charles Rix Award of Excellence-Patty Wetterling

NEXT MEETINGS (Usually 2nd Thursday of the month): *Location or date changed*

- January 12 (Board and Conference) Robbinsdale PD
- February 9 (Board) St. Louis Park PD
- March 9 (Board and Conference) Woodbury PD (Annie will take notes as Maryan is on vacation)
- *April 11 (Board) Dakota Lodge from 12-2 p.m.
- *May 18 (Board and Conference) MSP Airport
- June 8 (Board) Maple Grove PD
- July NO MEETING
- *August 10 (Board and Conference) Brooklyn Park PD
- *September 14 (Board and Conference) Sherburne County S.O.

- October 16 and 17 Conference
- November 9 (Board and Retreat) Chaska PD
- December NO MEETING

Meeting adjourned Motion: Garrett Kissner Second: Dave Arpin All Approved